Tiersen: Island (BioVinyl)

Tiersen: Island (BioVinyl)
Composer Yann Tiersen
Artist Jeroen van Veen piano
Format 1 LP
Cat. number 90015
EAN code 5028421900155
Release May 2024

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon

Download & streams

Other buying options

About this release

An audiophile LP transfer for an immersive tribute to a remote island off the coast of Brittany.

Having become celebrated for his score to Amélie (2001), the French composer moved to the island of Ushant (Ouessant/Eusa), and this album is a musical tribute to his home, comprising ten pieces about ten specific places on the island. In 2016, Tiersen published a collection of pieces called Eusa, which Jeroen van Veen has combined with his 2021 collection, Kerber, named after a chapel on the island, to produce Island.

The album has been a best-seller on CD for its contemplative mood and beauty.

Among the 10 tracks, some offer the perfect soundtrack for contemplation on a long walk or staring out of a window on a train journey. Others seem predestined to be background music for study or relaxation. The pieces sound at times dreamy and wistful, at times bittersweet, at other times happily playful. With each song, your imagination can easily conjure a scene from a movie: a breakup after a fight in a cosy café or a nature documentary showing two baby birds opening their eyes for the very first time.

This isn’t a collection about isolation; it’s more an expression of awareness of your own environment and your place within it: a sonic encapsulation of the hyper-local. Tiersen relates this approach to a night spent studying the stars – which he himself does. ‘You can look at things that are thousands of light years away and relate your own existence to this really cosmic element,’ he says. ‘But you get that same feeling with the things all around you.’

- The LP version of a highly successful CD issue: ‘Island’ by successful composer Yann Tiersen.
- French composer Yann Tiersen (born 1970) is one of the most popular and successful film music writers of today. His soulful and melancholic music finds its traces in folk music, French chansons, musette waltzes, street music, but also in the minimalism of Satie, Glass and Nyman.
- His international breakthrough came with the music for the French blockbuster “Amélie”. Later followed “Goodbey, Lenin!” and others.
- The composer’s two new albums, ‘Eusa’ and ‘Kerber’ are inspired by the small island of Ouessant, where he currently lives. Less than 16 square kilometers in size, it lies off the coast of Brittany in northwestern part of France boasting little apart from meadows and granite rocks. ‘Eusa’ is the Breton name for Ouessant, ‘Kerber’ is a little chapel on the island. Tiersen perfectly expresses the isolation of the island, its barren and wild landscape, but also its place in the vast universe when looking into space and its stars.
- Dutch pianist, pioneer and champion of Minimalism Jeroen van Veen plays the piano in his inimitable way: focused, serene and hypnotizing. A worthy successor of Van Veen’s successful recordings for Brilliant Classics of piano music by Glass, Pärt, Yiruma and many others.


Track list

Disk 1

  1. Yann Tiersen: Eusa: I. Pern
  2. Yann Tiersen: Eusa: II. Porz Goret
  3. Yann Tiersen: Eusa: III. Lok Gweltaz
  4. Yann Tiersen: Eusa: IV. Enez Nein
  5. Yann Tiersen: Kerber: I. Kerlann
  6. Yann Tiersen: Kerber: II. Ar Maner Kozh

Disk 2

  1. Yann Tiersen: Kerber: III. Ker Yegu
  2. Yann Tiersen: Kerber: IV. Kerdrall
  3. Yann Tiersen: Kerber: V. Ker al Loch
  4. Yann Tiersen: Kerber: VI. Kerber